## Hays County Historical Commission

## Minutes of February 23, 2023

The meeting of the Hays County Historical Commission was held February 23, 2023 at the Kyle Railroad Depot and Heritage Museum in Kyle, Texas. Rosina Valle, acting chair in her capacity as vice-chair, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. (CST).

## Roll Call

A quorum was present at roll call.

Present: Cynthia Allison, Delbert Bassett, Marie Bassett, Linda Coker, Nico Costilla, Anthony Davis, Johnny Flores, Robert Frizzell, Hoot Gibson, James Herbert, Kate Johnson (as ex-officio), Lila Knight, Jo Landon, Cindy Meyer, Ralph Meyer, Ryan Patrick Perkins, Sally Ramirez, Robert Rizo, Rosina Valle

Present, but not participating: Anita Collins

Absent: Frank Arredondo, Jonafa Banbury, Irma Gaitan, Jeremy Garrett, Faye Haskins, Echo Uribe

Citizens Present: Joe Ramirez, Susan Reyna, Alex Villalobos

Following roll call, Knight made a motion to excuse all absences due to the confusion created by the county judge's office sending an email to the members canceling the meeting. Motion was seconded by Delbert Bassett and passed unanimously.

## Citizens Comments:

Susan Reyna, a resident of Kyle, thanked the members of the HCHC for all the work they do, especially expanding the subject matter and the website with all of its great research resources.

Approval of minutes from February 17, 2023 meeting:

Knight moved to postpone the approval of the minutes as they have not been received. Motion was seconded by Gibson and passed unanimously.

Nominations for Chair to be recommended to the County Commissioners Court:

Acting Chair Rosina Valle asked for nominations from the floor.

- (1) Ralph Meyer nominated Linda Coker. Nomination seconded by Jim Herbert.
- (2) Cynthia Allison nominated Hoot Gibson. Nomination seconded by Jo Landon.
- (3) Lila Knight nominated Rosina Valle. Nomination seconded by Marie Bassett. Ms. Valle declined the nomination.
- (4) Sally Ramirez nominated Ryan Patrick Perkins. Nomination seconded by Nico Costilla.

With no more nominations forthcoming, Delbert Bassett moved to close the nominations. Motion seconded by Ralph Meyer and passed unanimously.

Following the casting of the first few votes, Robert Rizo asked that each nominee introduce themselves and give some information on their qualifications. Delbert Bassett moved to void the votes cast thus far until the nominees had a chance to speak. Motion was seconded by Knight and passed unanimously.

The following nominees gave a few words about their experience and goals for the future: Ryan Patrick Perkins Linda Coker Hoot Gibson

A roll call vote was taken, with each member indicating their vote for one of the nominees. There was no secret ballot. Knight recorded each member's vote. The votes were counted separately by Valle and Knight. After confirmation of the number of votes for each nominee, the results were announced.

```
Linda Coker - 6
Hoot Gibson - 7
Ryan Patrick Perkins - 4
```

[note: Valle abstained from voting and Anita Collins did not participate.]

Delbert Bassett moved that another round of voting take place between the two top vote-getters. Motion seconded by Ryan Patrick Perkins and passed unanimously.

The same process was used in the second round of vote with the following results:

```
Linda Coker - 11
Hoot Gibson - 7
```

[note: Valle did vote in this round. Anita Collins did not participate.]

Delbert Bassett announced that he had contacted the Texas Attorney General's Office, Open Meetings Division, as he had suspected there would be opposition to our meeting. He asked about the posting requirements for a meeting to be legal in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. He was told that the requirement was for the agenda to be continuously posted for 72 hours. If for any reason the agenda is taken down from its posting site before 72 hours have elapsed, then the meeting associated with that agenda is not valid in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. It is my understanding that the Agenda for tonight's meeting has met the 72 hour threshold. In fact, the agenda is still posted, as of tonight, at the Hays County Courthouse.

Ryan Patrick Perkins moved to adjourn, seconded by Delbert Bassett.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:25.

Respectfully submitted by Lila Knight, acting secretary