Minutes of the Hays County Historical Commission February 27, 2025

Present: Linda Coker, Nicholas Costilla, Anthony Davis, Grace Ann Fox, Robert Frizzell, Patrick "Hoot" Gibson, Jim Herbert, Ana Juarez, Lila Knight, Joe Ramirez, Sally Ramirez, Sarah Simmons, Kate Johnson (ex-officio)

Absent: Anita Collins, Tim McHutchion (illness), Robert Rizo (illness),

Chair Linda Coker called the meeting to order at 6:05 at the Kyle Railroad Depot and Heritage Center. Roll call established a quorum was present.

There were no citizens comments.

Motion made by Joe Ramirez and seconded by Sarah Simmons to approve the minutes of January 18, 2025. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion made by Hoot Gibson and seconded by Joe Ramirez to approve the minutes of January 30, 2025. Motion passed unanimously.

Chair Coker nominated Nico Costilla as Vice-Chair.

Hoot Gibson made a motion to confirm the nomination. The motion was seconded by Lila Knight and passed unanimously.

Chair Coker nominated Joe Ramirez as Treasurer.

Hoot Gibson made a motion to confirm the nomination. The motion was seconded by Lila Knight and passed unanimously.

Chair Coker nominated Lila Knight as Parliamentarian.

Ana Juarez made a motion to confirm the nomination. The motion was seconded by Anthony Davis and passed unanimously.

Chair Coker announced the appointment of the following as chairs of committees:

Linda Coker as chair of the Markers Committee

Lila Knight as chair of the CLG Committee

Sally Ramirez as chair of the Cemetery Committee

Hoot Gibson as chair of the Depot Committee

Nico Costilla as chair of the Under-Represented Communities Committee

Linda Coker as chair of the Texas Treasures Committee

Coker mentioned that the members of the Under-Represented Communities Committee may want to change their committee name to better reflect their work program.

Each committee chair described the purpose of their committee and answered questions from HCHC members.

Chair Coker announced the appointment of Anthony Davis as the IT and Social Media Specialist for HCHC.

Davis announced that the newly formed Kyle Radio (a non-profit) has asked if HCHC would like to participate in their programming. It would be a good opportunity for educating residents on the history of Hays County. A proposal will need to be submitted and it requires either a daily or weekly commitment for programming. After additional discussion, it was agreed to form an Ad Hoc Committee to pursue this. Anthony Davis will serve as chair. The following showed an interest in participating: Grace Ann Fox, Sarah Simmons, and Jim Herbert. Chair Coker will add it to the committee sign-up sheets.

Chair Coker encouraged everyone to sign up for the annual Texas Historical Commission's "Real Places" Conference to be held in Austin April 23-25. Members can sign-up for either in-person attendance or virtually. Only the basic registration fee can be paid by Hays County. Lodging, gas and meals (some meals are provided in the registration fee) will not be paid through the County. In addition, any pre-conference workshops will need to be paid individually by members. A sign-up sheet was provided to members.

Sign-up sheets were provided for each of the committees. Chair Coker reminded everyone that each member must sign up for at least two committees. There is no maximum limit on the number of committees one can participate in.

Anthony Davis reminded everyone of the requirement to take the Open Meetings Act webinar training available on the Texas Attorney General's website. The certificate is only valid for two years.

Hoot Gibson made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Joe Ramirez seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 6:56.