Hays County Historical Commission Meeting Minutes March 27, 2025 Kyle Railroad Depot and Heritage Center

Call to Order:

Chair Linda Coker called the meeting to order at 6:03 PM. Roll call was conducted, confirming the presence of a quorum.

Members Present:

Anita Collins, Linda Coker, Nico Costilla, Anthony Davis, Grace Ann Fox, Robert Frizzell, Hoot Gibson, Jim Herbert, Ana Juarez, Lila Knight, Joe Ramirez, Sally Ramirez, Robert Rizo, Kate Johnson (Ex-Officio).

Members Absent:

Tim McHutchin, Sarah Simmons

Guests:

Evan Thompson, Executive Director of Preservation Texas, Inc. Jesus Najar, Architectural Program Manager of Preservation Texas, Inc.

Citizen Comments:

No public comments were presented.

A motion was made by Lila Knight to confirm the appointment of Grace Ann Fox and Sarah Simmons as secretaries of the HCHC and was seconded by Nico Costilla.

Presentation:

A detailed presentation was given by Evan Thompson and Jesus Najar regarding the restoration and development plans for the 1884 Historic Hays County Jail. The proposed site plan included the creation of the "Hays County Heritage Center," which will feature offices, community-use pavilion, accessible restrooms, walkways, and improved parking facilities. The preservation initiative reflects strong community support for maintaining and celebrating local history. Commission members were also invited to attend the Central Texas Regional Preservation Summit, titled "The Future of Historic and Cultural Districts," to be held on June 24, 2025, in San Marcos, Texas.

Approval of Previous Minutes:

A motion to approve the minutes from the February 27, 2025 meeting was made by Robert Rizo and seconded by Hoot Gibson. The motion passed unanimously.

Announcements:

- Dr. Ana Juarez announced a community clean-up at Stringtown Cemetery scheduled for Saturday, April 5, 2025 at 8:00 AM. Volunteers are asked to meet at 3207 Hunter Road (Rockhouse). The effort will focus on clearing overgrown brush and debris.
- Anita Collins shared that a second public screening of "A Century of Tejano History: An Interview with Rosalio and Angelita Tobias" will take place on Sunday, April 6, 2025, from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM in the courtroom of the Historic Hays County Courthouse. Members were encouraged to RSVP due to limited seating.
- Lila Knight announced that on March 18, 2025, the Kyle City Council approved a directive for the City Manager to draft an ordinance establishing a *Kyle Historical Archives Commission*. Robert Rizo expanded on this, emphasizing the importance of assembling local historians to comprehensively document Kyle's history for future generations.

Committee Reports:

- Markers Committee (Linda Coker): Robert Rizo currently has the San Vicente Cemetery and Bunton Bridge markers at his office. A dedication ceremony is tentatively planned for May 2025.
- Certified Local Government (CLG) Committee (Lila Knight): The annual CLG report has been submitted. Knight will contact committee members to establish a consistent meeting schedule.
- Cemetery Committee (Sally Ramirez):
 Ramirez will reach out to Nichol's Cemetery for updates and will inform committee members of upcoming events.
- Depot Committee (Hoot Gibson):
 The annual Easter event is scheduled for April 19, 2025, from 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM at
 the train depot. Preparations for Memorial Day were also discussed, as well as updates to
 the Train Depot and Heritage Center.
- Under-Represented Communities Committee (Nico Costilla):
 Chairperson Costilla will coordinate with members to schedule the committee's meeting.
- Texas Treasures Committee (Linda Coker): The Texas Treasure Business Award Program recognizes businesses that have been in operation for over 50 years. Further actions will be discussed in upcoming meetings.

Committee sign-up sheets were made available to members for all standing committees.

Adjournment:

A motion to adjourn was made by Lila Knight and seconded by Robert Rizo. The meeting was adjourned at $7:28\ PM$.

Minutes respectfully submitted,

Grace Ann Fox, M.Ed., Secretary, Hays County Historical Commission